Joint Declaration on a Mobility Partnership between the European Union and the Republic of Moldova was signed on the 5th of June 2008 in Luxembourg, during the Slovenia's EU Presidency, at the meeting of the Justice and Home Affairs Council. Moldova and Cape Verde were the first pilot countries which joined the Mobility Partnership (MP) and in November 2009 the Georgia-EU MP was launched.

At the national level the MP’s provisions are in line with Moldovan migration management policies and contribute to the implementation of the National Strategy in the field of Migration and Asylum for the 2011-2020 and Governmental Plan of Action on Fostering Return of Moldovan Migrants from Abroad adopted in October 2008.

EU Member States currently participating in the MP through various projects related to migration policy are: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Hungary. The European Commission, FRONTEX and European Training Foundation are also participating in the MP.

Monitoring of the implementation of the MP is done through a “scoreboard”.

Projects related to the MP aim to:

  • Strengthen institutional capacity in the sphere of the migration management;
  • Promote legal migration;
  • Strengthen relations with the Diaspora;
  • Promote the return and reintegration of Moldovan migrants;
  • Contribute to the efficient investment of the remittances;
  • Ensure social protection;
  • Support border management and document security;
  • Strengthen cooperation in the fight against illegal migration and human trafficking.

More information on MP can be found accessing the documents listed below:

pdf[191 Kb]
Commission Staff Working Document - Mobility partnerships as a tool of the Global Approach - 18 September,2009)
pdf[253 Kb]
The Global Approach to Migration one year on: Towards a comprehensive European migration policy
pdf[73 Kb]
“Partnering” for Migration. The ambiguous case of “Mobility Partnerships” between the European Union and selected third countries. Rachel Nellen-Stucky
pdf[3.55 Mb]
Information leaflet